After that 1 week of sudden warmth, Sydney weather has distinctly taken on a cool change. It’s all good news for me, since I can now get my nice jackets and coat out for walks, sure it’s not yet cold enough for wool coats, but my military jacket has seen a lot of action as of late. Trench coats, however, hmm… that one’s got me in a bit of a pickle, I bought my trench in New York, I couldn’t wear it when I was there because it was far too cold. Ever since I got back I’ve been waiting for the weather to get cold enough for me to wear it, but to my despair, all of a sudden it appears every single woman in Sydney has a trench coat, a beige one at that, just like mine. No matter how much I try to convince myself that mine’s nicer, sharper, from New York, it’s still a beige trench coat like everyone else’s. Doh doh doh!

So then I tell myself fear not, I did find the perfect vintage varsity jacket in Melbourne, red and white, thick thick wool, it’ll last me into the thickest winter. It’s just… a bit too sporty, a bit too tomboyish, I know I know, I am a tomboy, but you know, gotta mix it up. So what did I do? I decided it’s best paired with a pale pink tulle skirt… well, that’s exactly what I bought. The look is now complete!

Hah, all this winter jacket talk has got me remembering a few looks I shot in Melbourne.

A cool change - Melbourne

A cool change - Melbourne

Name: Todd
Occupation: Screen printer
Describe your style: Semi hangover, crinkled and a fresh pair of pants.
Favourite fashion designers: Vanishing elephant, Above, Who am eye.
Favourite clothing stores: Heist, Incu

Indeed what Todd wears individually aren’t the most outstanding or eye chatching. Like he said, his shirt is crinkled, his sneakers a bit worn, but I love the way he carries the clothes and the way he carries himself. The cut of his trousers, the tapered legs, rolled up to the ankle, this shirt with the sleeves NOT rolled up. Relaxed, cool.

A cool change - Melbourne

A cool change - Melbourne

Name: Tutu
Occupation: Fashion and online magazine publisher (Tutu crazy about 1985)
Describe your style: Something easy to chuck on
Favourite fashion designers: Above, Rodney Tam, Vonh
Favourite clothing stores: Limedrop, Colette (Paris), Martin Margiela, Burberry.

Boots over jeans! It’s a mens trend I’ve been noticing. Tutu even asked me whether I think he can get away with it? Of course! He pulls it off with ease. I like the bright coloure details, the red lego heart and the blue glasses just jump out from the black, white and denim.

Well well, roll down those shirt sleeves, put on some boots, slip into that new jacket, throw on a scarf and out we go. Enjoy the cool change!

