What makes you a New Yorker? Do you have to be born in New York? Live here for 10 years? 20 years? Is it a lifestyle, an attitude, or maybe you just need to put on a big parka and stride the streets of New York with confidence.

You know I was secretly so happy when on 3 separate occasions recently that people asked me for directions in New York! Even though I only vaguely helped 1 of them, but still, to appear to be a local is a huge compliment to me. Well, as soon as I open my mouth, they’d know they asked the wrong person, but hey, that 1 I can work on!

So when I saw Dorothy from across the street I knew that this was a New York gal. Something about the way she dressed, the boots, the stride, the coffee in her hand, oh-so-New-Yorker! Well, I stomped across the street with my 3 trillion shopping bags and asked to take her picture. (Ok, 3 shopping bags, but that’s still a handful.)

New Yorker - Soho

New Yorker - Soho

Name: Dorothy
Occupation: Student
Describe your style: Whole heartedly New York
Favourite fashion label: None
Favourite clothing store: Vintage shops

Dorothy is a born and bred New Yorker, now that’s kinda rare but not so hard to spot.

