Today I took out some time just for street fashion hunting, I want to explore all the nooks and crannies of London and see the different vibes and styles, so today I started at the most obvious place, Oxford St, the home of all high street sheilas. My first week here I went to Topshop on Oxford for the first time, it’s the flagship store with multiple floors crammed full of clothes. I wonder how does anyone even choose what to try on, I’d end up with piles and piles of things on my not-so-skinny arms! A lot of the clothes there were hmm, well, awful, but some Balenciaga rip offs did catch my eye, more about that another time.

Ladies and gentlemen, I do NOT recommend street fashion hunting on Oxford St, it was a nightmare! It is constantly crowded and Londoners walk very fast, I had to check myself several times to slow down. This London pace, it’s very infectious you know, I’m already starting to dislike tourists who walk too slow. Anyhow, back to style hunting. One second I’d spot someone, but by the time I see them, they are already 3 steps past me. Have you ever tried catching up to someone on a crowded street? Well, I did several times today, all without success. I also get frustrated when someone blocks my view, I need to walk slowly in the middle and constantly scan from left to right of everyone that passes me. Gosh, I sound horrible…

It seems to me that people wear more colour in London, people seem more daring, I’ve seen a middle aged lady with a long mustard coloured coat, many girls with coloured stockings, men with brightly coloured shirts and accessories. Or perhaps it’s the constant grey that makes the colours pop and more noticeable? The fashionistas though mostly stick to a darker simpler colour palette but it seems from time to time they can’t help themselves but add a nice dash of colour.

A dash of colour - Girls - Oxford St

A dash of colour - Girls - Oxford St

Name: Jai
Occupation: Visual merchandiser at Armani Exchange
Describe your style: Eclectic, vintage and cool.
Favourite fashion label: Vivienne Westwood
Favourite clothing shop: (so very sorry, I can’t make out my hand writing, I should get a audio recorder thingyo)

Jai made that bolero herself, too cool, where do we place orders?

A dash of colour - Girls - Oxford St

A dash of colour - Girls - Oxford St

Name: Felicia
Occupation: Looking for a job :) (Someone give the lovely Felicia a job?)
Describe your style: Vintage
Favourite fashion label: Don’t have one
Favourite clothing store: Urban Outfitters

Felicia moved from Sweden recently.

Aren’t both girls just too awesome! Jai’s bolero makes me very very jealous of her pattern making and sewing skills, the styling of her outfit is great too, the perfect splash of colour to top it off. Felicia is as cute as a button, the innocent floral print romper contrasting against black everything else is done just right.

Now girls, go off and add a dash of colour to your outfits tomorrow. Shoo shoo, you all go in front of the mirror and play dress ups now!

